Brian Athearn is the owner of MV Tech Inc. He also runs Run-a-muck farm with his family. He is passionate about local agriculture and making a contribution to the community.

Vice Presidents

Julie Scott is a veterinary technician and goat farmer. She has a passion for sharing agriculture with others, turning people into farmers, making life easier for farmers, raising happier healthier animals, eating good food, community building and of course, dancing.

Beatrice Whiting is a nurse at Martha’s Vineyard Hospital. Her family is rooted in the Society and Island agriculture. She is passionate about the family farm she grew up on and growing her own food. She enjoys being a part of the program alliance and hopes she can help bring a young farmer perspective to the Society.

James Athearn owns and operates Morning Glory Farm with his family. He’s been a member of the Society for decades and sits on the program alliance, scholarship and zoning committees.



Bill Haynes is the owner of Haynes Plumbing and Caretaking. He has been a member of the Society for nearly 30 years. He is interested in local food and agriculture and enjoys helping out at the fair and maintaining the property.


Eleanor Neubert owns and operates Flatpoint Farm with her extended family. She is the Society Secretary and was the Fair Manager for over thirty years.


Dale McClure is the owner of Watercourse Construction. He enjoys being a part of the Society and contributing to local agriculture.

Nola Mavro is an Assistant Treasurer at Martha’s Vineyard Savings Bank. She’s been a Trustee since 1978.

George B. Athearn has been a member of the Society for over 30 years. He became a trustee to contribute to Island Agriculture. He’s a member of the program alliance, building & grounds committee and the Society custodian.

Jefferson Munroe is the Owner of The Good Farm. He joined the Society because it is a trusted Island institution; he became a trustee to support the Society and connect to with the farming community.

Allen Whiting is a farmer and an artist. His Great Grandfather started the Society and he has been a member all his life. He believes farming is an essential part of Island life.
Robert Egerton serves on the board of Sheriff’s Meadow Foundation, where he chairs the agriculture committee, as well as the boards of Martha’s Vineyard Community Services and the American Farmland Trust in Washington. He worked for the Farm Credit System for 39 years, providing loans and financial services to farmers and agricultural cooperatives. 

Abigail Scott Higgins is a gardener and writer. You may know her from the Garden Notes column of the MV Times. She is interested and concerned with the state of Island agriculture and has been a Trustee of the Society for over 40 years.

John J. Mancuso has been a member of the Society for over 35 years. He enjoys being part of a great Island institution that works to benefit local farmers.
Rebecca Haag is the Executive Director of the Island Grown Initiative which is dedicated to building a resilient and equitable food system on Martha’s Vineyard.  She is actively engaged with other community agencies to ensure that all who live on the island have access to healthy, locally grown food, and  serves on the Board of Island Health Care.

Will Warner has been involved with the Society since 1996. He began as a competitor and a volunteer at our Woodsmans Contest. He also services our fleet of golf carts and volunteers his time at events. Will became a lifetime member of the Society in 2010 .
Garrison Vieira became a Trustee in 2017

Kristina West became a Trustee in 2017.

Alternate Trustees

Lindsay Brown